#BlogJune 3 – Reading!

read-1342499_1280

YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG.

Confession time: I don’t read as much as I should.

I don’t mean that in a stereotypical librarian “woe is me, I only read 5 books a day, if only I had time to read 6!” kind of way. I really mean it. All you librarians out there know that boring question people ask you when you find out you’re a librarian: “oh, so do you like BOOKS?” And I do like them, in theory, but I am often presumed to be a savant of all classical, modern and contemporary literature based on the fact that I’m a professional information worker. It’s very flattering, but I can’t live up to that expectation.

I aim to read 20 books a year. I made this target 3 years ago. I have achieved it never. I came “close” in 2014 with a measly 15 books. But ever since I went back to uni last year (while working), my reading for leisure has gone down to pretty much zero.

To my immense shame, I’ve only read one book so far this year (this is a deep confession guys). It was Kenneth Cook’s Wake in Fright. It was awesome. I came across it after reading some article in a magazine in the lunch room calling Kenneth Cook a master of “Australian gothic”, and thought – hey, that’s a genre I can get behind. So I searched my library’s OverDrive collection and found this novel. Apparently the movie adaption is even more influential than the book, being regarded as one of the best and most important Australian films ever. Shame on me for not knowing that, I guess. It’s a thoroughly engaging and harrowing tale, and a pretty scathing critique on Australia’s alcohol and gambling culture, as well as the hidden menacing side of “mateship”. After reading it on the train into work, one of my colleagues said to me, “Hannah, are you ok? I thought you looked sad when you arrived.” It didn’t click until later, but I probably looked disturbed from reading the book. That’s how good it is.

So if anyone’s got any recommendations, please tell me. Maybe I can read the remaining 19 to fill my target before the end of the year… there’s still time…

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

