#BlogJune 8 – DISC profiles

circle-25937_1280

The chart is normally more populated than this but, you know.. copyright.

Yesterday some people in my work team did a webinar on DISC work profiles. It seemed really interesting. I wasn’t able to go, but it is being repeated so I think I’ll sign up for the next one if I can.

After the webinar, those who went seemed to have a blast. Then someone sent around a free online test around to everyone and most of us took the quiz and started talking about it. So it was a pretty fun day in the office. I am somewhat familiar with DISC already, as we did some professional team training with it at my old workplace.

The basic gist of it is there are 4 types:

  1. Dominance (task-oriented; outgoing)
  2. Influence (people-oriented; outgoing)
  3. Steadiness (people-oriented; reserved)
  4. Compliance or Conscientousness (task-oriented; reserved)

It is a profiling of your work style, not your personality or values. My type is S/CD.

You have a blend of Supportive, Cautious, and Dominant traits. Your Supportive traits are
probably a little stronger than your Cautious or Dominant traits.

Some words that describe you are:

  • Helpful
  • Kind
  • Problem solving
  • Results-oriented
  • Careful

You have both people-oriented and task-oriented traits, although you may tend a little towards a task-oriented perspective. You can either be reserved or outgoing. You probably like to get things done in a way that protects other people’s feelings. It is likely that you are supportive and careful, but you can get moving and make things happen if necessary.

It seems pretty accurate to me, and also an interesting and slightly contradictory mix of traits. Being primarily an “S”, it surprised me a little bit that I also had a foot in the “D” camp, because they are opposite on the spectrum. Ds are competitive, authoritative, driven, strong leaders. I don’t fit that stereotype. When I shared my results one of my colleagues told me they weren’t surprised by that at all, putting it down to the fact that I’m results-driven. Problem solving is something associated with the D type and that is a strength of mine too. And while leadership is not something I naturally seek out, I am actually quite comfortable filling that role when required, and quite enjoy delegating tasks and co-coordinating others towards a goal. I am adaptable and don’t mind being outside of my comfort zone.

Further reading on DISC:

https://www.discprofile.com/what-is-disc/overview/

https://www.discinsights.com/whatisdisc

 

Leave a Reply

