#BlogJune 17 – Ketchup Delight

It occurred to me today that the 2002 novelty song “The Ketchup Song” by Spanish pop group Las Ketchup bears a strong resemblance to early hip hop classic “Rapper’s Delight” by the Sugarhill Gang. I was jamming to “Rappers Delight” the other day, and suddenly found “The Ketchup Song” stuck in my head for absolutely no reason at all, having totally forgotten about its existence over the last 14 years until today. Then it hit me that there was a spooky resemblance between the two songs. Don’t take my work for it – listen to the two choruses.

I thought this must be some uncanny discovery. It must be some crazy coincidence, since they’re not even in the same language! Maybe I was the first one to notice. Maybe I could post my genius observation online and receive endless praise, and be the subject of articles on Buzzfeed… or Huffington Post… or maybe even the 2day FM blog. I can see the clickbait headlines now… “Remember The Ketchup Song? One Sydney librarian discovered this shocking secret and you’ll never hear it the same way again!” My mind started racing with possibilities. Maybe I could help someone sue someone else, like the owners of “Kookaburra Sits in the Old Gum Tree” did to Men At Work, or like some other band is tying to do to Led Zeppelin (and is no one going to act on the fact that Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know” is basically “Baa Baa Black Sheep”?) and get showered with generous riches.

Alas, my hopes were dashed in one Google search. Turns out the “Rapper’s Delight” resemblance in The Ketchup Song  was quite intentional, according to the song’s Wikipedia page. But worst of all, and to add insult to injury, they’re not even singing real Spanish. #ruinedchildhood

Leave a Reply

