#BlogJune 22 – Presenting

I hosted a webinar at work today.

I simultaneously dread but secretly love doing presentations, which is an interesting relationship.

I think I over-prepare, which stresses me out a little beforehand, but it works, because my the time the presentation comes around I know my material like second nature, and I can actually relax and enjoy myself while I present. My colleagues all told me how much they enjoyed the presentation, and I felt good because I had done well.

The always on-point and hilarious Tim Urban of the blog Wait But Why outlines his opinion of different methods to public speaking:

method-graph-2-768x672

Source: http://waitbutwhy.com/2016/03/doing-a-ted-talk-the-full-story.html

By the way, his post on doing a Ted talk (which this diagram comes from) is pretty good. And yes, I know a work-related webinar is not in the same league as a Ted talk, but the principles still apply, ok?

My usual method is a 2.5 – I wasn’t reading off a script, but I did have detailed notes in addition to my slides and had practiced twice beforehand, and memorized a few key sentences. I have a professional yet casual talking style when I do presentations, classes, speeches, etc.

The webinar itself was sharing my experience from VALA conference all the way back in February – it took me this long to actually present due to having a busy semester at work. But one of the projects I got busy with actually assisted my presentation. The topic was E-learning, and I was able to talk about a relevant project that I’d done since VALA, actually applying some of the take-aways from the papers I chose to a real situation. So that turned out to be a bonus.

4 Comments

  1. I love that graph! I am probably about a 2.5 too. I usually do at least a couple of run-throughs (partly just to make sure that I have the timing right but also to get more confident with the material) but it’s nice to be able to engage with the audience too.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I was sorry I missed this Hannah…I had a meeting at the time. I am so glad it went well….I dread/love presenting also.
    Love the graph. I am prob more a 1. I often underestimate how much I remember from the prep and reading of it all….
    Will catch up with the recording sometime 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. No worries Kate! I have uploaded it. Hope you find it interesting 🙂
    I admire that you are a 1! I guess it’s much easier than you’d think to get up and talk about something if you know it well. Maybe I’ll get there some day!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

