#BlogJune 30 – Full Circle

img_0107

The Muse… we learned how to communicate more effectively.

And here we are at the end of the road! It’s the last day of BlogJune. I made it.

Now it’s time to measure how I did against the objectives I made up at the beginning of the month.

  • To engage more with stuff in libraryland and develop new opinions.

I think that I have done this, especially by doing a number of 23 research data things during this month. As I reflected in a post the other day, this also led to me getting involved in a webinar discussion, showing a direct connection between blogging/tweeting and real industry engagement. It’s also been really good to have some contact with others doing the BlogJune challenge, and having some conversations.

  • To learn more from my work through reflecting and writing about it.

One interesting thing from this experience is that I didn’t blog about work as much as I anticipated. So some posts were about work, professional development or concerns of the library/information industry (23RDT and only a couple of musings), some were only tangentially related – reading, social media, librarian stereotypes – but some were more like a diary, especially over my 4 day holiday in the middle of the month. One real benefit of this was that knowing that I had to journal about my trip did help me enjoy it more. I don’t normally take many photos, travelling or otherwise, but I took a few this time so I would have a choice of things to add to my blog that night. I was also absorbing and reflecting on my experiences more. That goes to show that there’s a real benefit to blogging or keeping a journal.

  • To refine my writing voice.

I can’t really say I’m a better writer than I was at the beginning of the month. These skills take time. However, this challenge forced me to take the thoughts that I always have floating around in my head and actually put them in writing. This was a mental leap in its own right, because my default is to let many of those thoughts stew in my brain, never to see the light of day. Once I was in a position of forced daily writing, I realised that there were actually a lot of ideas ready to harvest for my blog posts. So, I suppose that does make me a better writer – not in terms of style, but in terms of being able to convert thoughts to words. Which is a pretty important part of it, right? I hope that I’ll be able to keep this up. Maybe next time I notice a thought stewing in my brain, rather than leaving it up there, I should write it down – and blog about it! My posts have been a little rough, however. Some were not well structured, or contained bad grammar and typos (but in my defence many of my posts were hammered out on an iPad. All I can say is: WordPress app + iPad keyboard = treacherous). Perhaps the pressure to post every day made them a bit rushed. In future, I’ll probably take my time with proofreading, and maybe saving my posts as drafts to come back to the next day. I want to keep improving.

  • To turn my non-blog into a real blog!

There’s certainly a lot more content here now. I once heard a piece of wisdom that it takes 28 days in a row of doing something to make it a habit. I’ve had 30. Have I started a habit of regular blogging? I guess we won’t see the fruits until a few weeks time, when i can look back and see if I did keep it up. I will keep blogging 23 research data things, and hopefully more. I really think that I will. But before then, I may take a few well-earned days off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

