Things I wish I knew earlier 2. The “Sort” function in Word

word-sort

SINCE WHEN.

Here’s the long awaited (ha!) second installment of my Things I Wish I Knew Earlier series. It’s for new things I discover that leave me cursing the fact that I didn’t know about them earlier.

So just in case you’re like me and you have somehow missed the following fact most of your life… Microsoft Word allows you to sort stuff in alphabetical, number or date order.

It’s the friendly little A/Z↓ button in the Paragraph section of the Home ribbon.

It’s a good function if you’re compiling a reference list and not using any reference management software (RIP you). Or any list that you want sorted in alphabetical order. It doesn’t matter what order you add items to your list – you can sort the text alphabetically at the end of the process.

Also works for tables. If you need to re-order your rows, alphabetically, numerically or by date, you can do it. It’s very similar to Excel’s sorting options, but in Word. Who knew?

So stop cutting and pasting and turning your document into a big ol’ mess trying to re-order stuff manually. Word knows how to sort! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

